Record Lection #5-De La Soul “Buhloone Mindstate”

I wouldn’t say this is the best De La record (this distinction might be impossible when analyzing this groups incredible career) but this one is probably my favorite. This may have do with the many memories I have of a senior year driving out to my girlfriends house in the country getting REALLY stoned and blasting this in my first car. Our little group of friends would sit around and carefully dissect each song and ask ourselves questions like “what does ‘Stickabush’ mean?” and “does this mean that Black Sheep really Were members of Native Tongues?” this was a world that we all desperately wanted to be a part of and desperately wanted all of their inside jokes to be ours. While De La Soul is Dead and Stakes Is High were epic collections of songs, this one feels like an introspective concept record, effectively changing upbeat quantity into introspective quality. I have no knowledge of what changed within the group between ‘Dead’ and ‘Mindstate’ but with comparative listening the differences become obvious.  Pos’ lyrics become more personal and emotional.  The contributions of Trugoy the Dove, normally the abstract counterpart of the group, are substantially reduced. There is even more of a live element present in the tracks, most notably a cameo from funk legend Maceo Parker. There is even an amazing skit that doesn’t even feature a member of De La, but a highly skilled Japanese duo thoroughly wrecking shop over a few seconds of a spare drum beat (I would rewind this 30 seconds of music constantly).  In spite of this turmoil, the results are no less timeless or effective.  I came of age to cuts like “Breakadawn” and “I am I be” still so deep, inspiring, and poetic when I think about them today. With every listen and I’m transported to a world of first loves, sunshine by the lake, and learning how to skateboard. On top of all that it is an undeniable hip hop masterpiece!!……..”I am Shorty I be 4’11”…..ahhhh.

Leave a comment